This Vegan Life

Wonder what vegans eat?  Here is a day in my new food-life as a vegan.

IMG_0999 - Copy

 

The breakfast of champions!  I have oatmeal for breakfast every.single.day.  It makes me so very happy!  My go-to oatmeal recipe: 1/2 old fashioned oats, 7 drops liquid stevia, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almondmilk, 1 cup water, 1/2 a mashed banana, 3 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce.  And lately I have been adding a small handful of frozen strawberry slices for a flavor kick.  Combine everything on the stove, bring to a boil, then reduce and simmer for 20 minutes.  Best breakfast ever.  Plus a pear – which I eat while my oatmeal cooks because I am not patient enough.  Oh, and coffee.  Lots of coffee.

IMG_1000 - Copy

 

Lunch is actually the biggest meal of the day for me during the week.  It keeps me fueled for work and also prevents me from snacking all day because I fill up at lunch (my oatmeal keeps me just filled enough that I can resist morning snacking but I am definitely ready for a big lunch!)  On the menu: Mexican Lettuce Wraps courtesy of Peas and Thank You – a great food blog I follow.  I didn’t have a lot of toppings on mine, just some salsa.  On the side was a small cup of green beans, carrots with hummus, and apple and an orange.  Then for dessert (told you lunch was my biggest meal of the day!), a Mixed Berry Crumble courtesy of Daily Garnish, another great blog I follow.  Instead of butter this crumble uses coconut oil – which is solid unless you heat it up.  I used a bag of frozen mixed berries (remember, always check the label to make sure it is 100% berries and has NO sugar).  Super duper awesome delicious!

IMG_1001 - Copy

 

Look, a picture of water!  How original!  No, actually it is flavored sparkling water.  Zero calories, zero sugar.  Typically I would be enjoying a can of Diet Coke in the afternoon, but my efforts to eat only foods I recognize – and nothing on the ingredient list of diet coke is recognizable – means I have given up soda as well as dairy products.  This actually does the trick for me.  No caffeine boost, but I get plenty of that with coffee in the morning!

IMG_1002 - Copy

 

My afternoon snack is also pretty amazing.  Celery with all-natural, unsweetened, no-salt added almond butter.  The ingredient list has one item on it – almonds.  They are just processed until butter – though I buy mine “chunky”.  Lots of fat in almonds, but really good for you fat.  And the protein count can’t be beat.  I had 1 tablespoon smeared over a few pieces of celery.  On the side 2 thin rice cakes (no salt or butter added, but I swear they taste just like popcorn!), and four strawberries.  For a beverage I had a mug of peppermint tea with a splash of more unsweetened vanilla almondmilk, a couple drops of liquid stevia, and the tiniest bit of vanilla extract.

IMG_1003 - Copy

 

Dinner was awesomely delicious as well.  Home-made Marinara Sauce (my own recipe this time) over spaghetti squash.  On the side a simple salad of lettuce (ice-berg, which I don’t like but I needed a big leaf lettuce for my Mexican wraps and all they had was ice-berg.  I will be glad when it is gone – no flavor!) with a home-made dressing: Low-Fat Tahini-Chickpea Dressing from another blog I read, Fat Free Vegan.  Oh my goodness!  So flavorful and good – and only 26 calories for 2 tablespoons!

IMG_1005 - Copy

 

Dessert later in the evening was a Chocolate Chip Banana Brownie, again from Daily Garnish.  Picture is not pretty but let me tell you something – these are best darn brownies I have ever had! I used vegan chocolate chips – which I can find in my regular grocery store.  Had it with a mug of decaf coffee.  Great way to end the day!

And I drink a lot of water throughout the day – just from the same water bottle over and over again (gross, I know).  Didn’t want to keep taking pictures of that water bottle!

So, there you see?  Vegans eat really good!  I was perfectly satisfied all day long and the food wasn’t “weird” at all!

Tomorrow I will post a recipe of my own creation that will once again prove just how easy (and delicious) being vegan can be!

One thought on “This Vegan Life

  1. betty lou jones February 5, 2013 at 8:01 pm Reply

    Thanks for the details – although I am a carnivore! your meals looked pretty good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

